Bragato welcomes new independent directors

New directors

The Bragato Research Institute welcomes Dr Dianne McCarthy, left, and Dr Bruce Campbell to the board.

The Bragato Research Institute (BRI) has announced the appointment of two new independent Board Members. Dr Dianne McCarthy CRSNZ, CNZM and Dr Bruce Campbell will join the BRI Board from 1 June 2019.

Dr McCarthy holds a PhD from the University of Auckland. The former CEO of the Royal Society of New Zealand, she is now Chair of the Board of the New Zealand Institute of Economic Research, a Director of the Cawthron Institute, a member of the governance boards of the Dodd-Walls Centre for Photonic and Quantum Technologies, the Healthier Lives National Science Challenge, and is Chair of the Ageing Well National Science Challenge. She is a Trustee of the Malaghan Institute of Medical Research and the Hearing Research Foundation (NZ).

“My career has been built around Science; initially mathematics and behavioural science. But as the years have passed, I have broadened my interests to concentrate upon the critical importance of science and research to our nation’s economic success,” says Dr McCarthy.

“So, as a lover of fine wine, it’s no surprise that the opportunity to contribute to our stellar industry across a range of needs and skills is one that I could not resist. I am particularly interested in the development of opportunities for emerging scientists to thrive in the new Bragato Research Institute.”

Dr Campbell has a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) in ecology from The University of Sheffield. He is a recipient of the 2017 Prime Minister's Science Prize, the 2017 Horticulture New Zealand Industry Service Award, and the 2016 Royal Society of New Zealand Thomson Medal for outstanding leadership of agricultural and horticultural science.

“I am looking forward to working with the wine industry and science stakeholders to benefit the industry and benefit New Zealand through excellence in innovation for world-leading, premium quality wines,” says Dr Campbell.

Drs McCarthy and Campbell join Mark Gilbert (Independent Chair) as independent members on the Board alongside three directors from the New Zealand Winegrowers Board – James Dicey, Peter Holley, and Dominic Pecchenino.

“We’re delighted to have such highly experienced and skilled people join the Board,” says BRI Chair Mark Gilbert.

“Alongside extensive industry expertise from our NZ Winegrowers directors, we have a potent combination to ensure we’re delivering both science excellence and industry impact.”

Date posted: 13 May 2019

Facebook Feed